Men’s Health Survival of the Fittest

I’ve spent the past 10 minutes brainstorming how to write this post without it sounding like another Ode to Ruaridh, but it was a lost cause. Ruaridh’s great blah blah blah 

Recently Ruaridh participated in the Men’s Health Survival of the Fittest race here in Edinburgh. I stumbled upon the event when searching for 10k races in Scotland for the two of us to participate in and knew this would be something Ruaridh would be interested in (although myself? not so much).

Ruaridh & Paddy before the race

Ruaridh & Paddy before the race

The course covered 10 kilometers with 16 different obstacles set up around the city. For Ruaridh it was another exciting chance to compete and for me it was a nice, familiar race location to spend a Sunday morning supporting Ru.

There were over 2500 men (and some women!) competing that day and each wave of participants started with a warm up in the Princes Street Gardens under the shadow of the Castle.

IMG_1762

I estimated that it would take Ruaridh (and his friend, Paddy) somewhere between 45 minutes and an hour to complete the race so after he set off, I strolled through the gardens before making my way to one of the obstacle spots in the Grassmarket to watch.

IMG_1787 IMG_1741

I’ll admit, I was being pretty judgmental– lounging on a bench on Grassmarket, bundled up, with my camera in tow and then criticizing the poor showing at this particular obstacle. Considering I didn’t even attempt to participate and this was towards the end of the 10k so people were understandably tired. And had I participated, I would have likely made the most poor showing at this particular obstacle.

Ruaridh

Ruaridh

No upper body strength over here.

Lucky for Ruaridh he’s in much better shape than me even without triathlon training, and he finished 105th out of 2500.

Ruaridh and Paddy after a successful race

Ruaridh and Paddy after a successful race

Yeah. I know. What a show off.

But he had a blast and it would be hard to beat racing through the historic streets of Edinburgh for a city race in the UK.

Maybe I should try it myself next year.

Or maybe (definitely) I’ll still have no upper body strength.

Have you participated in an obstacle course race? 

Leave a Reply

