Weekly Wrap Up

Today I’m off at the RCAHMS (Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland) participating in a full day drawing workshop and “sketch crawl” with the Edinburgh Sketcher.

Not the most traditional way for a 20-something to kick off her weekend, but I’m loving it nonetheless.

But that’s not all. Here are the top 5 other things I’ve been loving this week.

Check them out. Get through Friday in the office. Then have a wonderful weekend!

1. Around the World in 80 Jobs

Blogger, Turner, has been traveling around the world doing some of the most unique, odd, and crazy jobs around the world. From flipping dough in an Italian pizzeria to scooping poop at the Tiger Temple in Thailand, Turner will have you on the verge of dropping everything and hopping on a plane to start your own blog-worthy adventures.

Photo Courtesy of aroundtheworldin80jobs.com

Photo Courtesy of aroundtheworldin80jobs.com

2. Cottage Douche lait Gourmande au Caramel

Ruaridh and I brought back this body wash from Nice and I can’t get enough of it. It smells even better than caramel. Lather up with this in the shower then dry off and follow up with cocoa butter.

You will smell like a cake. And you will love it.

I’m not sure if this is available outside of France, but if not, forget just bringing back olive oil, wine, and herbs from your next holiday and stop by a grocery store/convenience store/pharmacy and get this.

photo courtesy of cottage.tm.fr

photo courtesy of cottage.tm.fr

3. Blogging to Brand Yourself

Levo League articles usually get me thinking about my future career plans and lifestyle choices but this article in particular had me contemplating my current blogging hobby. What are my goals for my blog and what am I trying to accomplish? Though my blog is somewhat new, where do I see my blog in the future? A few things I definitely need to start taking into consideration as I spend more time with my writing and photography.

4. Sugar Land Turkey Trot

As I’m spending Thanksgiving back home in Sugar Land, Texas (yes friends, that’s the real name of a city), I’ve been eyeing the annual Turkey Trot events and trying to convince my family to participate this year. There is a timed 5mile race as well as a 2.8 mile family fun race/walk. There are hundreds of these Thanksgiving morning races going on across the United States each year, but I’ve never participated before. Couldn’t hurt to take some of the guilt away from gorging on tons of turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, and sweet potato pie, right?

5. Sainsbury’s Giraffe Bread

I bought a loaf of Sainsbury’s giraffe bread this week and Ruaridh told me the story of how giraffe bread used to be called tiger bread until a sweet toddler (and active citizen apparently) wrote a letter to Sainsbury’s calling them out on their misnaming of a bread that clearly resembled a giraffe print and not a tiger print. I love when companies respond to children’s letters and the idea of a 3 year old making a change in one of the largest UK supermarkets is just too good!

Photo courtesy of BBC News bbc.co.uk

Photo courtesy of BBC News bbc.co.uk

What links/stories/products are you currently loving this week? Have you ever participated in a Turkey Trot?

Happy Friday!

IMG_1711

© Pristine Remolona and New Kid on the Loch, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Pristine Remolona and New Kid on the Loch with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Creative Commons License
New Kid on the Loch is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at https://newkidontheloch.wordpress.com

5 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up

  1. Thanks for the love. Funny enough, right after that picture was taken that elephant rapped its trunk around my arm and pulled me down the hill right under him. Hope you love Edinburgh Pristine.

  2. Thanks for love Pristine. Funny enough, right after that picture was shot that elephant wrapped its trunk around my arm and pulled me down the hill under her. Edinburgh is magic. Enjoy and stay in touch.

Leave a Reply

