Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh

This week an old friend of Ruaridh’s, Tom, came to visit and stayed overnight at our flat here in Edinburgh.

Tom

Tom

For our first (and only) houseguest, Ruaridh and I went all out. And by that I mean we managed to source a twin size mattress and make space for it on our living room floor since we don’t have a couch, just a loveseat. It was very slumber party-esque having a pallet on the floor.

Oh and also because we put on face masks at 1AM after we got home from the bars.

My face feels soft like a baby now! Hollaaaaaaa!

IMG_1252

But I digress.

The next morning, with our supple skin glowing, the three of us decided to take advantage of the sunny Edinburgh afternoon and take a trip to the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh.

in such a hurry to see the foliage

in such a hurry to see the foliage

Go visit! It's free!

Go visit! It’s free!

coffee, scones, jam, butter and lots o cream

Tea break with a view of the gardens

Because Tom & I are both new to photography, it was also the perfect spot to practice taking photos. We saw lots of people walking around with their cameras.

How neat is this photo that Ruaridh took of a small waterfall in the gardens?

IMG_1231

Because he used a long exposure, he was able to get that lovely silky effect for the moving water. As opposed to what it would normally look like in a photo.

IMG_1240

I must learn how to do that (amongst many other photography skills)!

It was a beautiful (and free!) autumn day out. I love being able to actually see the seasons progressing, unlike in Texas. For the most part I think the leaves in Texas go from green to dead to disintegrated.

Womp womp womp.

But oh no. Not here.

IMG_1120

IMG_1114

Not up in here!

© Pristine Remolona and New Kid on the Loch, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Pristine Remolona and New Kid on the Loch with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

<
Creative Commons License
New Kid on the Loch is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at https://newkidontheloch.wordpress.com

 

8 responses to “Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh

  1. Ahhh Scotland!? Beautiful. It is definitely on my list of places I’d love to visit. Thank you so much for linking up! Courtney

  2. I can’t believe you are living in Scotland! My ancestors are all Scottish and I still have yet to visit. PS The blog name is PERFECT! Following you for all of your adventures on Blog lovin and stopping over from the Fall Fancy link up!

    • You definitely should visit! Especially if you have Scottish heritage. It’s a BEAUTIFUL country.

      Yay I’m so glad you like my blog name! I had a list of ideas before I finally picked this one 🙂

      Thank you for reading and for following my blog.

      Keep in touch!

  3. Hi Pristine, I’m visiting from the Fall Fancy Follower Fest! I love all your pictures. Even though you say you’re new to photography they are amazing! I’m following you on Bloglovin to keep up with your amazing journey. I’ve never been to Scotland but through your picture I can really get a sense of all it’s beauty. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Hi Silvie, Thanks for stopping by and for following my blog!

      I’m very happy you enjoy my photos. Thank you for the compliments! The photos don’t do Scotland justice.

      Keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

