Sunday G&Tea

Last August when Hendrick’s Gin was in town for the festival, I attended a few gin events at Bon Vivant’s Companion. While I was never much of a gin drinker before, the Hendrick’s tastings sure changed that.

So when I saw an ItIsOn deal (think Groupon-esque) online for a gin tasting for 2 at 56 North, I was sure to scoop it up.

8 gins. 4 tonic waters (and 1 ginger ale). Cakes. Canapes.

my setup

my setup

Now that is the way to spend a rainy Sunday afternoon.

For our gin selection we had (in no particular order) Hendrick’s, Tanqueray, Portobello Road, Chase Extra Dry, No.3 London Dry Gin, Sloane’s, Whitley Neill, & Bombay Sapphire.

gin on gin on gin

gin on gin on gin

And for our mixers we had a Schweppe’s ginger ale, the ever popular Schweppes tonic water, Fentiman’s tonic water & light tonic water, and Fever Tree tonic.

tonic selection

tonic selection

Our host at 56 North led us gin by gin through each spirit’s background and gave us a bit of insight into the specific botanicals in each gin sample.

the fragrant botanicals they use for Tanqueray

Can you guess the fragrant botanicals used for Tanqueray?

Ruaridh

Ruaridh

I tried each gin neat and then with a tonic water. For the first few gins I used the tonic recommended by our host, but by the end I decided I really just preferred the Fever Tree tonic water best.

After the first 4 gins, the group took a short intermission and a delectable tower of pastries and sandwiches was brought out to each table.

2013-10-06 16.01.41

With tea on the table, we finished tasting the remaining 4 gins and discussed our favorites.

I was a big fan of the Tanqueray & of the No.3, but I still think my favorite has to be…

 Hendrick’s!

I do enjoy Edinburgh Gin (which we didn’t have at the tasting) and the nice lady next to me recommended I try Tanqueray No.10, but yes, friends, the gin that had changed my mind about the g&t, won my heart despite the competition.

Ruaridh and I had a great afternoon at 56 North and the women next to us were raving about how they’d do the tasting again. With about 6 sandwiches, profiteroles, mini éclairs, & macarons in my tummy I happily agreed.

2013-10-06 15.47.06

I sneaked a peek at the restaurant’s dining menu & spotted a few things I want to try & some lunch & dinner deals, so Ruaridh & I just might be back.

Are you a fan of gin? What’s your go-to gin & tonic?

© Pristine Remolona and New Kid on the Loch, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Pristine Remolona and New Kid on the Loch with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Creative Commons License
New Kid on the Loch is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at https://newkidontheloch.wordpress.com

3 responses to “Sunday G&Tea

  1. This sounds fun!! There has got to be a gin tasting just like this somewhere in London. There just has to be! I rarely drink gin so I could use a little insight 🙂

  2. Pingback: 5 ‘Must Do’ Activities in Edinburgh | New Kid on the Loch·

Leave a Reply

