Liquid Confidence

Ruaridh and I got a new juicer this week. And not just any juicer. A beautiful shiny, new £100 juicer. Yikes.

Let’s just say, sometimes Ebay can get competitive.

In our defense, it normally goes for a bit more than that, so we got a deal right? And trust me we’ll get plenty of use out of it.

image (1)

Ruaridh and I made an impulse buy for our first juicer in June right after watching Sick, Fat, and Nearly Dead on Netflix and have been big fans of juicing ever since. Although we’ve never used juicing as a “cleanse” or as a weight loss tool because we both still love eating food.

Aside from the health benefits that proponents of juicing will tell you, I personally feel a noticeable difference in my energy, skin, and mood when I add fresh juices to my diet.

The main hindrance I find with juicing is that it takes a lot of produce. Especially for two people. Which can be discouraging if you’re grocery shopping on a budget (hello, funemployment).

Don’t be fooled. That’s Lidl produce in that Whole Foods bag.

Our main shop for groceries in Edinburgh is Sainsbury’s. Overall, the selection and quality match our shopping budget, but it’s definitely nowhere near as wonderful as HEB. Man I miss HEB.

I’ve also found that the produce from shops here goes bad quite quickly compared to produce I bought in Texas. I have no idea if this has anything to do with the GMO fruit and vegetables or chemicals used in the States or if it takes longer to transport produce in Scotland.

I’m not making an argument for or against why this is, but we usually have to eat most of our produce within a couple days after purchase which is something I’m not used to.

So if you’ve never tried juicing I’d definitely recommend looking into it and researching juicers (we had this one Texas). You certainly don’t need to spend £100 for one.

Then you can go ahead and try the two super simple recipes below.

Because they have a fair amount of fruit in them, they’ll be an enjoyable transition into juicing (plain, raw, juiced kale is rough).

Citrus Carrot Juice

  • 7 large carrots
  • 3 large oranges
  • 1 large lemon

Cucumber Juice

  • 6 gala apples
  • 2 large cucumbers
  • 1 lemon

But don’t forget, like Ruaridh’s nieces and nephews below, you can still always eat your fruits and veggies.

3 responses to “Liquid Confidence

  1. Pingback: Throwback Thursday- Boracay, Philippines | New Kid on the Loch·

Leave a Reply

